Équipe

Rencontrez l’équipe de Foolish Operations pour les projets en cours!

 

Julie Lebel – Directrice Artistique

Photo: Riz Herboza

Née sur la Côte-Nord au Québec, sur les terres ancestrales de la Nation Innue, Julie Lebel vient d’une familles dont les ancêtres sont d’origine de France et Irlande. Depuis 2005, elle vit et danse avec gratitude sur les territoires autochtones ancestraux et non cédés des Premières Nations xʷməθkʷəjˀəm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish) et səl̓ilwətaɁɬ (Tsleil Waututh). Elle est une chorégraphe francophone investie dans la pratique de médiation culturelle et dans les interactions entre l’espace public et la communauté – impliquant des musiciens, des artistes visuels, des cinéastes et des écrivains avec un corps de travail de plus de 20 ans. Elle est la directrice artistique de Foolish Operations, connectant des personnes de toutes les générations à travers de nouvelles expériences de danse, en particulier avec et pour les très jeunes enfants. Elle est membre du Lower Left Collective (États-Unis, Allemagne, Norvège et Canada) et enseigne l’Ensemble Thinking. Elle est la fière maman de jumelles actives qui sont les premières consultantes de tous ses projects créatifs.

foolishoperations@gmail.com

 

Sarah Gallos – Associé artistique

Photo: Adam Blasberg

 

Sarah Gallos est une artiste de performance et animatrice bilingue, originaire de l’Est du Canada (née à Montréal avec parents neo-ecossais de première génération). Elle travaille avec Foolish Operations depuis plus de 10 ans en tant que danseuse.

Lorsqu’elle est devenue mère il y a 7 ans, elle a commencé à participer à la pratique Dancing the Parenting. Le croisement de l’improvisation d’ensemble et des compétences parentales basées sur l’attachement nourrissent la magie des créations de Foolish Operations.

Plus récemment, elle a pris en charge le soutien administratif et de facilitation de Dancing the Parenting tout en continuant à créer des œuvres de performance avec l’équipe de Foolish Operations.

community@foolishoperations.org

 

Sophie Brassard – Associé artistique

Photo by Bee N. Kent

Sophie Brassard est une artiste en danse franco-colombienne basée à Vancouver. Elle travaille avec Foolish Operations en tant que danseuse depuis 2017 (Paper Playground & Moving Resting Nesting) et depuis le mois d’août 2020, elle accompagne l’organisation dans les communications et le marketing. En mai 2021, elle a commencé a supporté l’organisme en développement de marché grâce à une subvention PIVOT du Conseil des arts de la CB. 

communications@foolishoperations.org

 

 

 

 

 

Caroline Liffmann – Associé artistique

Photo: Sarah Cavanaugh

Caroline Liffmann est une créatrice de performances avec comme base la danse contemporaine. Elle travaille comme chorégraphe, créatrice, interprète, improvisatrice, éducatrice artistique et animatrice artistique communautaire depuis 2003. Elle est fan et co-conspiratrice de Foolish Operations depuis 10 ans. Actuellement, Caroline travaille avec la compagnie en tant que danseuse, œil extérieur et consultante sur la pratique “trauma-informed”.

 

 

 

 

Xin Xuan Song – Productrice artistique

Né et élevé en Chine, Xin Xuan Song a déménagé à Vancouver pour étudier à l’université et a ensuite obtenu un baccalauréat en production et design de théâtre de l’Université Simon Fraser. En plus d’être un régisseur indépendant, Xin Xuan travaille en tant que coordonnatrice artistique et programmatrice de séries de films au Centre d’arts Kay Meek.  Moving, Resting, Nesting est le premier projet de Xin Xuan avec Foolish Operations et elle souhaite que ce sera le premier de plusieurs!

 

 

 

Marie-Pier Gilbert – Associé artistique

Photo: PO Cadieux

Marie-Pier Gilbert a complété ses études en danse contemporaine à la School Of Dance d’Ottawa et depuis, elle travaille en tant qu’interprète, chorégraphe, commissaire et enseignante.

Au fil des années et des projets, elle développe un intérêt pour la danse en contexte extérieur, où elle peut investir différents lieux d’échanges avec les spectateurs. Elle collabore notamment avec Julie Lebel (Foolish Operations), Meagan O’Shea (Stand Up Dance) et Geneviève Lauzon Danse. HELMUT, sa première création en contexte extérieur, fait partie du programme Jouer Dehors (La danse sur les routes du Québec) et fut présentée à plusieurs reprises à Montréal ainsi qu’à la Maison du Québec à Saint-Malo (France). En 2020, elle crée Connexions Momentanées, un déambulatoire musique et danse, qui lui permet d’aller à la rencontre des citoyens. 

Marie-Pier réside désormais à Montréal, tout en continuant de participer au développement de la communauté artistique d’Ottawa. En 2015, Marie-Pier a d’ailleurs créé, avec sa collègue Jocelyn Todd, la plateforme de création et de diffusion Dark Horse Dance Projects, qui entame sa sixième année d’activité.

Lily Alice Malena-Morin – Assistante de coordination

Jeunesse Canada au travail dans les deux langues officielles

 

Aillant grandi principalement au Québec, Lily Alice a également passé du temps à vivre et à étudier au Népal, au Cambodge et en Bosnie-Herzégovine. Ces expériences ont nourri sa fascination pour les gens et la culture, la façon dont nous vivons ensemble et construisons une communauté. Après avoir passé les derniers étés à travailler dans une boulangerie française au Québec et à avoir effectué un stage dans une organisation de défense des droits humains Roma en Macédoine, Lily Alice est maintenant ravie de se joindre à l’équipe de Foolish Operations en tant qu’assistante de coordination. Ayant été exposée à la communauté artistique à travers le travail de son père, elle croit profondément à l’importance de l’art dans nos vies et est contente de soutenir la communauté créative et inclusive que Foolish Operations encourage. En tant que boursière Loran, elle étudie maintenant la sociologie et les mathématiques à UBC. Pendant son temps libre, Lily Alice aime le chant de chorale, la photographie, la marche et la cuisine.

Team

Meet the Foolish Operations team for our current projects!

Julie Lebel – Artistic Director

Photo by Riz Herboza

Born and raised in north-eastern Québec, on the ancestral lands of the Innu Nation, from a family of settlers of French and Irish ancestry, Julie Lebel now gratefully lives and dances on the ancestral and unceeded Indigenous territories of the xʷməθkʷəjˀəm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish), and səl̓ilwətaɁɬ (Tsleil Waututh) First Nations. She is a francophone choreographer invested in community engaged dance and in interactions between public space and community – involving musicians, visual artists, film makers and writers with a body of work spanning 20 years. She is the artistic Director of Foolish Operations, connecting people of all generations through new dance experiences, especially with and for very young children. She is a member of Lower Left Collective (USA, Germany, Norway and Canada) teaching and performing Ensemble Thinking. Julie is a proud mother of very active twin girls who act as first consultants in all her creative endeavours.

foolishoperations@gmail.com

Sarah Gallos – Artistic Associate

Photo by Adam Blasberg

Sarah Gallos is a bilingual performance artist and facilitator, originally from Eastern Canada (born in Montreal to 1st generation Nova Scotians). She has worked with Foolish Operations for over 10 years as a dancer. 

When she became a mother 7 years ago, she began participating in Dancing the Parenting practice. The crossover of ensemble improvisation and attachment based parenting skills feed the magic of Foolish Operations’ creations. 

Most recently, she’s taken on administrative and facilitation support of Dancing the Parenting while continuing to create performance works with the Foolish Operations team.

community@foolishoperations.org

Sophie Brassard – Artistic Associate

Photo by Bee N. Kent

Sophie Brassard is a Vancouver-based francophone dance artist and arts administrator. Since 2017, she has been working with Foolish Operations as a dancer (Paper Playground & Moving Resting Nesting) and since August 2020 she has supported the organisation with communications and marketing. In May 2021, Sophie started assisting with market development thanks to funding from the BC Arts Council’s PIVOT grant program.

Caroline Liffmann – Artistic Associate

Photo by Sarah Cavanaugh

Caroline Liffmann is a performance maker with a home base in contemporary dance.  She has worked as a choreographer, creator, performer, improvisor, arts educator and community arts facilitator since 2003, and has been a Foolish Operations fan and co-conspirator for 10 years.  Currently Caroline works with the company as a dancer, outside eye, and consultant on trauma-informed practice.

Xin Xuan Song – Artistic Producer

Born and raised in China, Xin Xuan Song moved to Vancouver for college and subsequently graduated from Simon Fraser University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Theatre Production and Design. In addition to being a freelance Stage Manager, Xin Xuan works as the Artistic Coordinator and Film Series Programmer with Kay Meek Arts Centre. New to Foolish Operations, Moving, Resting, Nesting is Xin Xuan’s first project with the company, and she looks forward to many more. 

Marie-Pier Gilbert – Artistic Associate

Photo by PO Cadieux

Marie-Pier Gilbert completed her studies in contemporary dance at the School of Dance in Ottawa and since then has worked as a performer, choreographer, curator and teacher.   

Over the years, she has developed an interest in dance in an outdoor context, where she can invest in different places of exchange with audience members. She primarily collaborates with Julie Lebel (Foolish Operations), Meagan O’Shea (Stand Up Dance) and Geneviève Lauzon Danse. HELMUT, her first creation in an outdoor setting, is part of the Jouer Dehors program (La Danse sur les routes du Québec) and has been presented several times in Montreal as well as at the Maison du Québec in Saint-Malo (France). In 2020, she created Connexions Momentanées, a travelling music and dance performance, which allows her to meet citizens.   

Marie-Pier now resides in Montreal, while continuing to participate in the development of the artistic community of Ottawa. In 2015, with her colleague Jocelyn Todd, Marie-Pier created Dark Horse Dance Projects, a creation and performance platform which is entering its sixth year of programming.

Lily Alice Malena-Morin – Coordination Assistant

Having been raised primarily in Quebec, Lily Alice also spent time living and studying in Nepal, Cambodia and Bosnia-Herzegovina. These experiences have nurtured her fascination with people and culture, how we live together and build community. After spending previous summers working in a French bakery in Quebec and interning with a Roma human rights organization in Macedonia, Lily Alice is thrilled to join the Foolish Operations team as a Coordination assistant. Having been exposed to the artistic community through her father’s work, she believes deeply in the importance of art in our lives and is excited to support the creative and inclusive community Foolish Operations has fostered. As a Loran scholar, she now studies Sociology and Math at UBC. In her free time, Lily Alice enjoys choral singing, photography, walking and cooking.

Isabelle Rousseau – Artistic Associate, Dancing the Parenting

Photo by Julianna Damer

Isabelle teaches dance and movement to different ages and all abilities; whether young people, adults or families. She focuses on the pleasure of moving and basic patterns of movement, guided by several traditions and styles. The classes are festive and inclusive, and draw on her experience as a somatic educator and a performer. www.moveandbemoved.ca

Isabelle has collaborated with Foolish Operations for many years and is now one of our facilitators for Dancing the Parenting.

 

Anna Lamontagne –Coordination Assistant

Anna Lamontagne is a queer contemporary dance artist from the unceeded territory of the kanien’kehá ka nation, in tiohtià:ke / mooniyaang (Montreal). They’re growing an impressive mullet and recently dyed their bangs green. Their interest in poetry initiated an artistic practice at the crossing of literature, installation art and performing art. They trained in Big Bang Professional Dance Intensive Program where they developed two solo works, one of which was presented at Art Souterrain Chronométrie Festival in 2021. Anna now pursues their artistic development among Modus Operandi Contemporary Dance Program on the unceded territories of the Sḵwx̱wú7mesh, Stó:lō and Səl̓ílwətaʔ/Selilwitulh and xʷməθkʷəy̓əm nations in Vancouver.